Hawaii: Oahu

Duke StatueWhen my sister told me she and her family would be leaving the island by the end of the year, I made it a priority to get back to Oahu. The trip was last minute so we had no advance plans, but by the time my flight landed I was eager to get to the beach. My sister made that happen on the first day of my trip and again throughout my stay. We enjoyed the sheltered waters of Lagoon 4 at Ko’Olina. Later in the week a Hawaiian monkseal caused quite the stir when she decided to take a nap a few feet from where we had settled at Three Tables on the North Shore. A volunteer from the Monkseal Response Team arrived quickly and cordoned off a large area to protect the sunbathing mammal.

I am embarrassed at how much Americana I enjoyed throughout the week. Between shopping and eating I had my fill of hot dogs, burgers, ben & jerry’s, poke, and filter coffee.

Despite the beautiful weather and glorious beaches, the highlight of this trip was spending time with my family. I value the nights I stayed up talking with my sister and the simple pleasure of snorkeling with her kids.

Dates: 21-30 June 2015
Travel with: visiting my sister & her family
Weather: perfect beach weather every day but the last one, 80-90s
Accommodation: with my sister in Aiea and 2 nights at Hilton Hawaiian Village (HHV) in Waikiki
Activities:

  • beaches galore: Ko’Olina, HHV lagoon, Waikiki, Three Tables, Bellows;
  • Waimea Valley hike & waterfall;
  • watching the International Space Station pass over Waikiki;
  • Mass at St. Augustine Star of the Sea & Pearl Harbor Chapel;
  • Diamondhead run;
  • shopping

Food:

monkseal at three tables
monkseal at three tables
  • lots of delicious meals courtesy of my sister (!!);
  • Leonard’s malasadas;
  • Happy’s and Ben & Jerry’s at Hale Koa;
  • Jamba Juice;
  • Jack in the Box;
  • Starbucks;
  • Yardhouse burger (!!);
  • Duke’s fish tacos (!);
  • Kozo Sushu;
  • Roy’s Waikiki (!!)

Transportation: nonstop flights on Air New Zealand from AKL to HNL; the bus 20 & 42

