Wai-o-tapu & Rotorua

The Primrose Terrace
The Primrose Terrace

I don’t usually join my husband on his fishing trips, but I’m always keen to go to Rotorua so I tagged along.  I broke my arm just before the trip and had to rethink my plans. Stand up paddleboarding was out. I traded lounging in thermal springs for a pedicure. Fortunately a broken limb did not impact our Wai-O-Tapu excursion.

Wai-O-Tapu thermal area covers 18 sq.km of collapsed craters, cold and boiling pools of mud, water and steaming fumaroles. A portion of this is open to the public. We completed all three walks through the park, admiring the wide range of colours created from different mineral elements.

IMG_1694Dates: 4-6 March 2016
Travel with: Allen
Weather: warm and dry. It got hot walking around during the day.
Accommodation: Princes Gate Hotel
Activities:

  • Wai-O-Tapu
  • bilingual (English & Maori) Catholic Mass at St. Michael’s
  • pedicure at Professional Nail Care
  • fishing (Allen)

Food & Drink:

  • Craft Brew Kitchen
  • Zippy’s Cafe
  • Tank
  • Abracadabra
  • Cabbage Tree Cafe, Tirau

Transportation: Hertz Car Rental

Devil's Ink Pots
Devil’s Ink Pots
Artist's Palette
Artist’s Palette
