Annapolis, Maryland

usnaThe first few days of my 18-day trip were a frenzy of running errands and seeing friends. My first priority was meeting my newest nephew. He graced me with smiles and giggles when I arrived at the airport and throughout dinner although it was well past his bedtime.

On Friday my parents and I ran around Annapolis stocking up on items that are hard to find in Auckland, like Karo syrup and canned pumpkin. We also drove 40 minutes to College Park to buy some new Terps’ gear.

Saturday morning I gave my new running shoes a trial with a run around the Yard at USNA. I-Day was the following week so the campus was eerily quiet. After so much time away I was awed by the Academy’s beauty and views of the Severn River.

I spent the rest of the day catching up with friends and meeting the kids they’ve had since I last saw them. It was amazing that so many made the trip to Annapolis.

Dates: 23-25 June 2016
Travel with: visiting friends & family
Weather: hot & sunny, 80-90s
Accommodation: my parents’ house
Activities:

  • shopping and running errands
  • meeting my nephew and friends’ children (!!)
  • running on the yard
  • Mass at St John Newman

Food & Drink:

  • dinner with Ariel & the Tylers at Outback Steakhouse. I was craving a bloomin’ onion.
  • Naval Bagels
  • Five Guys
  • bbq at home
  • Chick-fil-A

Transportation: Air NZ/United AKL to DCA via IAH

